Gaia Szames

Auræ Ensemble


Auræ ensemble was born from the various collaborations between the recorder player Mathilde Aigouy and the soprano Gaia Szames. From Renaissance polyphonies to Baroque cantatas, their projects always seek to explore rarely performed repertoires while combining a historically informed approach and a search for simplicity embodied in the fluidity of air, foundation of their respective instruments.

Currently their exploration consist, on one hand, of vocal and instrumental pieces from Italy and France for recorder, voice and basso continuo. On the other hand, they dive into renaissance polyphonic music performed with voices and consort of recorders, currently devoting to Josquin’s works. But they often expand when the repertoire gives the possibilities and include a bigger continuo team and other melodic instruments that respond to the programme performed.

Mathilde Aigouy, recorder 

Gaia Szames, voice

Maciej Skrzeczkowski, organ and harpsichord

Julia Dolz, baroque cello